I’d like to name them all by name: Anna Akhmatova’s Requiem


For soprano, choirs, organ and orchestra

Translated by Judith Hemschemeyer

1.    No, not under the vault of alien skies, 
2.    In the terrible years of the Yezhov terror
3.    Mountains bow down to this grief
4.    That was when the ones who smiled
5.    They led you away at dawn
6.    Quietly flows the quiet Don
7.    No, it is not I
8.    You should have been shown, you mocker
9.    For seventeen months I’ve been crying out
10.    The light weeks will take flight
11.    And the stone word fell
12.    You will come in any case
13.    Now madness half shadows
14.    A choir of angels sang the praises
15.    I learned how faces fall
16.    Once more the day of remembrance draws near

First performance     
Date: March 31, 2010
Venue: SOH Concert Hall
Performing body: Sydney Philharmonia Choirs and Orchestra
Soloist: Leanne Kenneally
Conductor: Brett Weymark

Categories of work: